How Many States and Union Territories in India | Do You Know the Correct Answer

How Many States and Union Territories in India

From 31st October 2019, there are 28 States and 9 Union Territories in India. Earlier, there were 29 States and 7 Union Territories.

However, under Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, the State of Jammu & Kashmir has been reconstituted into two Union Territories viz. Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh with effect from 31st October 2019.Thus reducing the number of States from 29 to 28 and increasing the number of Union Territories from 7 to 9.
Survey of India has also released New Political Map of India, incorporating these changes.

New Political Map of India

Revocation of Article 370:

Earlier, in August 2019, Indian Government announced revocation of Article 370 of Indian Constitution which granted Special Status to the State of Jammu & Kashmir. Following this, Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019 to bifurcate the state into two Union territories was passed in Parliament.

New Map of Jammu-Kashmir & Ladakh

New Map of Jammu & Kashmir

It is to be noted that out of these two newly constituted Union Territories; Jammu-Kashmir will have its own legislature, just like the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry. One more fact which has changed is that, ‘Ladakh’ is now the largest Union Territory in terms of area.

IAS officer of Gujarat cadre, Girish Chandra Murmu has been appointed as the first Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir Union Territory. Whereas, Radha Krishna Mathur has been appointed as the first Lieutenant Governor of Ladakh.

List of 9 Union Territories:

1. Andaman and Nicobar

2. Chandigarh

3. Daman and Diu

4. Dadar and Nagar Haveli

5. Delhi

6. Jammu and Kashmir

7. Ladakh

8. Lakshadweep

9. Puducherry

List of 28 Indian States:

1. Andhra Pradesh

2. Arunachal Pradesh

3. Assam

4. Bihar

5. Chhattisgarh

6. Goa

7. Gujarat

8. Haryana

9. Himachal Pradesh

10. Jharkhand

11. Karnataka

12. Kerala

13. Madhya Pradesh

14. Maharashtra

15. Manipur

16. Meghalaya

17. Mizoram

18. Nagaland

19. Odisha

20. Punjab

21. Rajasthan

22. Sikkim

23. Tamil Nadu

24. Telangana

25. Tripura

26. Uttar Pradesh

27. Uttarakhand

28. West Bengal

Facebook Comments

Like it? Share with your friends!